Daisy MOOOOO

I love making quirky cakes and a purple cow has to be up there on the quirky’o’meter!

Please excuse the tiny kitchen in the background and the cake box! The images were taken just before Daisy (as I nicknamed her) left the kitchen to head to the party venue! I am happily now in a brand new kitchen that is about 3 times larger!

The party was for 70 people so I needed to either go for a massive cow or create a setting for the cow. We decided since the cake was a surprise we would draw from the birthday girls childhood growing up in the countryside near farms- which is were her love for our bovine friends came from!

So a meadow for Daisy our purple cow to sit in was perfect! Now clearly purple isn’t a natural colour for cows- it was however a firm favorite colour of the Lady of the hour and so it was a must. This meant I could have some fun with the design and make a cute purple and red cow covered in hearts with a little purple wire tail and blue nose!

The grass is a mix of piped buttercream and green sugar crystals because life is better with a bit of sparkle! I then added piped red flowers to compliment Daisy’s hearts!

That’s the beauty of cakes, it doesn’t have to be true to life, you can be bold, be silly and have some fun with design and really make something personal.

I wonder what weird and wonderful creation I will get asked to make next?

Leave a comment